Peer Editing Student Writing – Voicethread

My plan is to use this Voicethread this week to help teach how to Peer Edit other’s writing, and assess their understanding of what is covered in the brief lesson.

References

Opening Peer Edit Picture: https://farm7.staticflickr.com/6133/5933961403_fe9d5120a7_z.jpg

Frame 1 Peer Editing Steps Picture:  http://image.slidesharecdn.com/peereditingtutorial-091104004619-phpapp01/95/peer-editing-tutorial-4-728.jpg

Frame 3 Suggestion Box Picture: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_O4ZzhRdo84M/TSMtUHATQfI/AAAAAAAACk0/m9z-Vd4SLpI/s400/suggestion_box.gif

Frame 4 Red Correction Paper Picture: http://www.nyiniyu.com/test/quickcmslite24/files/images/proofreading.jpg

Frame 5 Peanuts Be Kind to Others Picture: http://www.lovethispic.com/uploaded_images/159172-Be-Kind-To-Others.png

Frame 6 Anais Nin Quote Picture: https://lifeofafemalebibliophile.files.wordpress.com/2014/03/wonder-ful-2.jpg

5 thoughts on “Peer Editing Student Writing – Voicethread

  1. Hey Jonathan!

    I really enjoyed your VoiceThread! I think everything flowed well. I especially liked how you check for students’ understanding through the use of a comment. Would you use this as an assignment in class or as a homework piece?

    Great work!
    -Taylor Bennett

    • Thanks Taylor,
      I’m going to be using this as an assignment in class. Our district decided this year to not allow homework for elementary students, with the exception of reading. We also do not allow our Ipads to go home, mainly because the majority of students do not have access to the internet at home. Our new Junior High requires students to do homework on the Ipads they take home, I don’t believe that any elementary schools are sending technology home. I have some students that do work on their blog at home, however. I’m hoping that I will be able to use it tomorrow, but I have to check in the morning if I’ll be able to get the Voicethread app on their Ipads to be able to reply.
      Jon

  2. This is fantastic! I wish I knew how to imbed the voice thread into my blog – I really think this could be useful to students when trying to personalize my lessons and a way to encourage social learning. This is fantastic, can you tell me how you did this?

    • Ruth thanks for your thoughts. As for your question about embedding, you can embed things like this or videos easily. When you use the share on what you want to embed, look for the embed code to copy. Then in edublogs you use the add media button and on the left there is a tab to embed. You simply paste the code there. Don’t be alarmed when you only see an empty box. When you publish it, or preview it, the VT or video will appear. Good luck!
      Jon

  3. Hi Jonathan
    Great job. Your VT is clear to instruct students on how to edit other’s writing. You speak slowly to make sure your students understand your instruction step by step and you show the picture to guide your students what to do. Your students could follow your instruction easily. Thank you for sharing and great work.
    Shui Huei

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *